Hall of Honor Inductees

1994 Hall of Honor

Max Falkenstien, LMHS Class of 1942

Carl Knox, LMHS Class of 1935
Educator, USD 497 Superintendent

1995 Hall of Honor

John Hadl, LHS Class of 1958
Professional Football Player

Ethan Smith, LMHS Class of 1952
Businessman, Community Volunteer

Bill Snead, LHS Class of 1955
Editor, Photo Journalist

Neal Wherry, Staff 1932-1963
Educator, LMHS/LHS Principal

1996 Hall of Honor

Paul Coker, LMHS Class of 1947
Cartoonist, Creator of Chesty Lion

Ralph Houk, LMHS Class of 1938
Professional Baseball Player & Manager

Sara Paretsky, LHS Class of 1964
Author, Creator of V.I. Warshawski Series

Al Woolard, Staff 1950-1976
Educator. LMHS/LHS Football Coach

1997 Hall of Honor

Paul Endacott, LMHS Class of 1919
President, Phillips Petroleum

Alice Fowler, LMHS Class of 1952
USD 497 Board Member

Dr. Elmer McCollum, LMHS Class of 1900

Fred Six, LMHS Class of 1947
Justice, Kansas Supreme Court

1998 Hall of Honor

Dr. Ray Clark, LMHS Class of 1954
Orthodontist, President LLAA

Larry Hatfield, LHS Class of 1958
Businessman, School Board Member

Olin Petefish, LMHS Class of 1930
Attorney at Law

Dolph Simons, LMHS Class of 1947
Editor/Publisher, Lawrence Journal-World

1999 Hall of Honor

Hank Booth, LHS Class of 1964
Broadcaster, Community Volunteer

Alan Mulally, LHS Class of 1963
Engineer, Sr. Vice-President The Boeing Co.

Bill Nieder, LMHS Class of 1952
Olympic Athlete, Businessman

Joie Stapleton, LMHS Class of 1924
Educator, KU Professor of Physical Education

2000 Hall of Honor

Rich Clarkson, LMHS Class of 1950
NCAA Sports Photographer

Robert Docking, LMHS Class of 1943
Kansas Governor, Banker

Susan Hadl, LHS Class of 1975
Police Officer, Community Volunteer

Martha Demeritt Parker, LMHS Class of 1945
Author, Historian

2001 Hall of Honor

George Brown, LMHS Class of 1944
Colorado Lt. Governor, Tuskeegee Airman

J. Tate Clark, LMHS Class of 1932
President, Phillips Petroleum

Robert Ellsworth, LMHS Class of 1943
Congressman, US Ambassador to NATO

Robert “Bobby” Lee, LHS Class of 1964
Founder Lawrence Boys and Girls Club

Warren Hodges, LMHS Class of 1939
General, US Army, Decorated Combat Veteran

2002 Hall of Honor

Don (Red Dog) Gardner, LHS Class of 1956
Founder Red Dog Days, Police Officer

Steven Johnston, LHS Class of 1982

Srinija Srinivasan, LHS Class of 1989
Vice President, Editor-In-Chief, Yahoo Inc.

Elden Tefft, LMHS Class of 1939

2003 Hall of Honor

Mary Demerrit Gordon, LMHS Class of 1951
Teacher of Blind/Visually Impaired Students

Danny Manning, LHS Class of 1984
Professional Basketball Player

Kris Sperry MD, LHS Class of 1971
Forensic Pathologist

2004 Hall of Honor

Andrew Benton, LHS Class of 1970
President, Pepperdine University

Erin Pattee Brockovich-Ellis, LHS Class of 1978
Advocate, Inspired movie bearing her name

Erv Hodges, LMHS Class of 1946
City of Lawrence Mayor, Lt Colonel USMC

Ron Hurst, LMHS Class of 1956
Community Volunteer and Advocate

2005 Hall of Honor

Rick Morris, LHS Class of 1971
Federal and Municipal Firefighter

Ron Olin, LHS Class of 1968
Lawrence Police Chief, Counter-Terrorism Expert

Max Rife, Staff 1956-1991
LHS Coach, Teacher, Administrator

Rick Trapp, LHS Class of 1965
FBI Agent, Prosecutor, Douglas County Sheriff

2006 Hall of Honor

Mark Booth, LHS Class of 1974
Chairman, CEO Netjets

Clyde Bysom, LMHS Class of 1936
Musician, Band Leader

Leonard Clark, LHS Class of 1960
LHS Teacher and Coach, WSU Assistant Athletic Director

Dennis Reardon, LHS Class of 1962
Playwrite, Professor of Playwriting

Doug Coffin, LHS Class of 1964
American Contemporary Indian Artist

2007 Hall of Honor

Jane Bodle, LHS Class of 1977
Actress, Singer (Broadway and Film)

David Booth, LHS Class of 1964
Founder, Chairman, CEO, CIO Dimensional Fund Advisors

Brian McClendon, LHS Class of 1982
Vice President, Google; Director of Engineering, Google Earth

Chris Piper, LHS Class of 1983
Broadcaster, Businessman, Athlete

2008 Hall of Honor

Rex Johnson, LMHS Class of 1950
Douglas County Sheriff, Mentor to Youth

John McGrew, LMHS Class of 1956
Real Estate, Developer, Nature Preserver

Chuck Mead, LHS Class of 1979
Singer, Songwriter, Founder BR549

Michael Miner MD, LHS Class of 1961
Neurosurgeon, Author, Professor

2009 Hall of Honor

Adam Brock, LHS Class of 1994
United States Navy SEAL Officer

Ben Hall, LMHS Class of 1950
Pioneered Genetic Engineering in Yeast

Joe Flannery, LHS Class of 1968
Businessman, President Weaver’s, Inc

2010 Hall of Honor

Sam Campbell, LHS Class of 1966
Just one person trying to make a difference

Dr Larry Kwak MD PhD, LHS Class of 1977
Physican and Scientist, Cancer Vaccine Pioneer

Steve Scheid, LHS Class of 1971
Chairman of Janus Capital Group

Wesley B. Walker, LHS Class of 1954
Three Sport Champion

2011 Hall of Honor

Gene Burnett, LMHS Class of 1937
Lawrence Businessman, Philanthropist

Judith A K Harmony, LHS Class of 1961
Biomedical Scientist, Advocate for Girls and Young Women

Roberta Smith, LHS Class of 1965
Art Critic, New York Times

Richard “Dick” Stanwix, LHS Class of 1949
Faith in community through a turbulent era

2012 Hall of Honor

Bart Ehrman PhD, LHS Class of 1973
Author, Scholar, Teacher

Rev. Robert Flannery, LHS Class of 1965
Priest, Church Leader, State and National Ecumenical Interreligous Officer

Idan Ginsburg, LHS Class of 1994
Astronomer, Educator, Poet

Andrew Godwin PhD, LHS Class of 1997
Professor, Scientist, Translational Cancer Research Pioneer

2013 Hall of Honor

The Honorable Srj Srinivasan, LHS Class of 1985
Judge, US Court of Appeals, DC Circuit

The Honorable Monti L. Belot III,LHS Class of 1961
Judge, US District Court, Kansas

Nancy (Knox) Todd, LHS Class of 1966
Colorado State Senator

Brady Tanner, LHS Class of 2001
World Special Olympic Gold Medalist

2014 Hall of Honor

Mark Bernhardt, MD, LHS Class of 1975
Orthopedic Spine Surgeon & Educator

Corinne Brinkerhoff, LHS Class of 1998
Television Writer, Producer

William C. “Bill” Brubaker, LHS Class of 1970
Firefighter, Regional Coordinator, Kansas Division of Emergency Management

Sarah Buxton, LHS Class of 1998
Singer, Songwriter, Recoding Artist

2015 Hall of Honor

Alan Clark Fisher, LMHS Class of 1940

Sharyn Lewin, MD, LHS Class of 1993
Gynecologic Oncology Specialist

Thomas V. Murray, LHS Class of 1965

2016 Hall of Honor

Thomas Michael (Mike) Amyx, LHS Class of 1971
Businessman, Lawrence, Kansas Mayor

Selina Jackson, LHS Class of 1984
Nothing is Impossible

Dwayne W. Peaslee, LMHS Class of 1950
Business Manager Plumbers & Pipefitters Local Union

2017 Hall of Honor

Captain Daniel L. Affalter, LHS Class of 1972
Lawrence Police Department

James E. Flory, LHS Class of 1966
Douglas County District Attorney & Commissioner, Assistant United States Attorney

Karen Hough Majidzadeh, LHS Class of 1985
Improviser, Entrepreneur, Author

2018 Hall of Honor

Z. Jamer Czupor, LHS Class of 1961
Entrepreneur and Writer

Wendy Taylor MPP, LHS Class of 1986
Global Health Innovation Leader

Lance Joseph Williams, PhD, LHS Class of 1967
Computer Graphics Pioneer

2019 Hall of Honor

Cathleen Carothers, LHS Class of 1991
Foreign Service Officer

Ashley Davis, LHS Class of 1994
Be True to Yourself and You will Never Fail

Pamela McElwee, LHS Class of 1988
Professor, Scholar, Environmentalist

2020-2021 Hall of Honor

No new inductees were named to the Hall of Honor in 2020 or 2021 due to the COVID-19 pandemic.